Skandalaris Awards

The Sam Fox School is pleased to announce the winners of the 2009 Skandalaris Awards:

Skandalaris Award for Excellence in Art + Architecture
Rick Lowe, Founder, Project Row Houses

Skandalaris Awards for Entrepreneurship in Design & Visual Arts
Anna Rubbo, Founder, Global Studio
John Bielenberg, Founder, Project M

The Skandalaris Awards, which will be presented on November 5, 2009, during the "Economies: Art + Architecture" conference, honor outstanding achievement in design and the visual arts.

These three awardees have demonstrated leadership and entrepreneurship in the fields of Art + Design + Architecture on a local, national or international level by promoting or establishing innovative understandings of "economy," particularly through community-based and/or sustainable practices.

The response to our call for nominations was enthusiastic; we received 41 nominations representing a wide range of national and international creative and entrepreneurial activity.

This year's jury was comprised of the following members, all of whom are leaders in  the fields of art and architecture education, administration, and practice:

Stephen Beal, President, California College of the Arts
Patricia Kucker, Graduate Program Director and Associate Professor, School of Architecture and Urban Design, University of Cincinnati
Wellington "Duke" Reiter, President, School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Jennifer Siegal, Julius Shulman Institute Fellow, Woodbury University; Founder and Principal, Office of Mobile Design
Georgia Strange, Professor of Art and Director, Lamar Dodd School of Art, University of Georgia
John Yancey, John D. Murchison Regents Professor in Art and Department Chair, Art and Art History, University of Texas at Austin